free simple web templates

The Rousseau School

A school of teaching is generally observed to be teachers who hold a common doctrine or practice, or follow the same teacher. These are both true for the students of Dr. Rousseau, as well as “legacy students*,” many of whom have their own studios at both small and large universities. 

These teachers of the “Rousseau School” know that virtuoso teaching is an important part of their careers because they themselves have experienced it many times in Dr. Rousseau’s studio, workshops, and master classes. His ability to take students from where they are ("We really have no other choice") and guide them to success is remarkable and may prove to be the most enduring part of his legacy - "Teaching is about as close to immortality as most of us get."

University Teachers

The following students of The Rousseau School now offer studios 

of their own at these universities.

Allison Adams

University of Tennessee – Knoxville

Malcolm Lynn Baker

University of Denver

David Bixler 

Bowling Green State University

John Bleuel*

University of West Georgia

Nathan Bogert

Ball State University

Frank Bongiorno

University of North Carolina Wilmington

David Branter

Vancouver Community College

Carolyn Bryan 

Georgia Southern University

Hunt Butler

Kentucky State University

Gary Campbell

Florida International University

Jim Carroll 

George Mason University

Benjamin Cold

Bemidji State University

Shirley Diamond 

Walla Walla University

Michael Duke 

Sydney Conservatorium of Music, Sydney University

Preston Duncan

University of Minnesota

David Feller

Weber State University

Stephen Fisher* 

Georgia College

Sigurdur Flosason

Tónlistarksóli F.I.H, Iceland

Kay Gainacopulos

University of Wisconsin Oshkosh

Stephen Goacher

Howard Payne University

Lynn Greenwood

Greenwood Music Studios

Jeffery Kyle Hutchins

Virginia Tech

Richard Ingham

University of Aberdeen

Michael Jacobson

Baylor University

Patrick Jones

Edinboro University of Pennsylvania

Bruce Jordan

Sinclair Community College 

Chris Kelton 

Providence College

Jason Laczkoski* 

Valley City State University

Shannon LeClaire 

Berklee College of Music

Jerry Luedders 

California State University – Northridge

Susan Loy 

York College of Pennsylvania

Stacy Maugans 

Valparaiso University

Harry Miedema

University of Indianapolis


David Milne

University of Wisconsin River Falls

Otis Murphy

Indiana University

David Nabb

University of Nebraska – Kearney

Eric Nestler 

University of North Texas

Julia Nolan

University of British Columbia, Vancouver

Stephen Page

University of Texas at Austin

Gary Paulo 

Emory University

Adam Schattschneider

Bluffton University

Bill Sears

Interlochen Arts Academy

Laurie Marino Sears

Northwestern Michigan College

Rich Shanklin

University of Akron

Whit Sidener

University of Miami

Randy Smith

Truman State University

Ray Smith

Brigham Young University

Dragan Sremrec

Zagreb University Academy of Music 

Steve Stusek

University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Caroline Taylor*

Ouachita Baptist University

Kenneth Tse

University of Iowa

Scott Turpen* 

University of Wyoming

Javier Valerio

University of Costa Rica

Farrell Vernon

Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne (IPFW)

Thomas Walsh

Indiana University

Mark Watkins

Brigham Young University Idaho

Andy Wen

University of Arkansas At Little Rock

George Weremchuk 

University of Central Florida

Jack Wilkins

University of South Florida

Gregory Wrenn 

Randolph-Macon College

Anna Marie

Wytko Kansas State University

Colin Young 

Drake University & Grinnell College;

* Legacy Student